Workforce includes six default statuses that can be applied to your jobs:

  • Pending - when a job is not yet scheduled
  • Scheduled - when a job has been scheduled
  • Travelling - when a field worker is travelling
  • Awaiting parts - when a job has been paused
  • Completed - when a job has been completed
  • Cancelled - when a job has been cancelled

Whilst the names of these six statuses can be amended, they cannot be deleted from the system. This is because they are all part of a logical workflow; however, you can add more definitions of job status to the system and use these to follow any job through your own work schedule practice.

Renaming the default job statuses

You can find 'Job Statuses' under the 'Settings/Work' menu. 

From this screen you will find the six default job statuses and any additional statuses that have been defined. The six which cannot be deleted will not have a red 'x' beside them indicating they can be deleted.

If you wish to rename a job status to match the nomenclature used in your business then simply highlight the existing text and type over it with your new description. It may be that you wish to call completed jobs, 'Finished' or travelling could be 'Engineer en-route'. 

However you wish to describe the status of job using a default description, just be aware that the logic should follow what is already defined.

So, it is fine to change the name of a job that has been scheduled to 'Allocated' but you cannot change the name to something that does not match the description of 'Shows when a job has been scheduled'. Doing so will interfere with the core logic of how jobs are processed in Workforce.

However, you can add your own customised job statuses for anything that is not covered under the six default statuses. We'll cover these below.

Once you have finished renaming your default job statuses, click 'Save' to save your changes to the system.

Adding custom statuses

You can add as many custom statuses as you wish to the Workforce App so that the workflow suits your existing or preferred way of working.

In addition to the default statuses you may have several ways of describing the current status of a job; such as:

  • Additional parts required
  • In progress
  • Urgent action needed
  • Parts ordered

To add a custom status, simply click on the 'Add status' text at the bottom left of the status list:

Doing so will bring up a blank status which you can rename as you wish. 

Changing the colour of a job status

You will note that the default colour for a blank status is white. If you click on the circle to the left of the status, a colour wheel is launched and from which you can select a customised colour:

Once you have done adding your customised statuses then select 'Save' to set the changes to the system.

Deleting custom statuses

Removing a custom status is quite straightforward but can have implications of which you should be aware.

If you decide that you wish to delete a status then you simply select the red 'x' at the side of the status that you wish to remove:

If the status you are deleting is not assigned to any job then it will simply be removed; however, if the status you are trying to delete is currently assigned to an existing job then you will be presented with a pop-up window:

The window is a warning that the status you are trying to remove is currently active in the system. In order to delete it you will need to tell Workforce to which status you wish to reassign these jobs with. At this point, you can either cancel the operation or select an alternative status to assign your jobs to.

Click 'Save' to continue and the status will be deleted with all associated jobs re-assigned.


Did this answer your question?